@readathon update #5: 5 pm – 8 pm

I decided that I’ll be doing updates every three hours so there will be a total of eight new posts today! The newer updates will be at the bottom of the post so scroll down to see my new updates!

Check out hours 1 – 3 here!
Check out hours 4 – 6 here!
Check out hours 7 – 9 here!
Check out hours 10 – 12 here!

Hour 13: 5 pm – 6 pm
Currently reading: The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster; Joy Comes in the Morning by Betty Smith
Books finished: 2 – A Good Man is Hard to Find and The Phantom Tollbooth
Pages read: 60
Running total of pages read: 514
Amount of time spent reading: 33 minutes (.55 hours)
Running total of time spent reading: 393 minutes (6.55 hours)
Snacks: Rest of the (now soggy) nachos, two fruit roll ups (have I mentioned SUGAR!?!?!?!)
Misc: Finished my second book! Feeling totally like I can do this for 11 more hours. Also kind of sad that it’s more than halfway done! So much excitement and planning to have such little time left. Not sure how the rest of my night will unfold because I’ll have a little person here again soon and it will be a few hours before bedtime¬† but she wanted to do a readathon so maybe we can read together tonight.

Hour 14: 6 pm – 7 pm
Currently reading: Joy Comes in the Morning by Betty Smith
Books finished: 2 – A Good Man is Hard to Find and The Phantom Tollbooth
Pages read: 28
Running total of pages read: 542
Amount of time spent reading: 28 minutes (.47 hours)
Running total of time spent reading: 421 minutes (7.02 hours)
Snacks: A few pieces of leftover popcorn, a Sparkling Ice water
Misc:Well, it seems like the pace I’m setting for myself is about 30 minutes out of every hour – 7 hours of reading out of 14 hours total. I’ll take that – it isn’t too shabby for my first real readathon! Ten hours left – I can’t believe we’ve already done 14 hours! Crazy. Right now I feel like I’ll be able to make it through all 24 hours but we shall see because I got not a lot very good sleep last night. Time to break to play mancala with Charisse!

Hour 15: 7 pm – 8 pm
Currently reading: Joy Comes in the Morning by Betty Smith
Books finished: 2 – A Good Man is Hard to Find and The Phantom Tollbooth
Pages read: 8 (hey, better than zero!)
Running total of pages read: 550
Amount of time spent reading: 8 minutes (.13 hours)
Running total of time spent reading: 429 minutes (7.15 hours)
Snacks: Dinner with Charisse – two hot dogs. Yum. Nothing else – will have some of my other snacks throughout the night!
Misc: Squeezed in eights minutes since it was all I could get. Better eight minutes than none. Glad I got to also have some sister time with Charisse. I totally can get through at least Joy Comes in the Morning because I’m averaging about one page a minute and I’ve got around 250 pages left in this book. Nine hours go. I can make it!

 

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “@readathon update #5: 5 pm – 8 pm

  1. Oh, I love The Phantom Tollbooth. Great choices! Happy reading and enjoy the rest of Readathon! #TeamHughes

  2. Yes, you CAN make it!! :) Oh my goodness, I’m so excited to see you’re reading Joy in the Morning!! Betty Smith is my favorite author. Hope you’re enjoying it. Happy Readathon! #TeamHughes

    • Krista

      Loving it so far! One of my all-time favorite books is A Tree Grows in Brooklyn. I’m about 1/3 of the way through Joy and I’m so glad I picked this one to read!

  3. Hi there! I’m cheering you on with #TeamHughes. Hope you are having fun and still feel motivated. You’ve made it this far and you’re doing great. Good luck with your reading!

Leave a Reply

