Book Review: The Weird Sisters, Eleanor Brown

Shakespeare and book fans: this is a book you’ll want to read. I am just going to come outright and say it: I really, really liked The Weird Sisters! I liked the characters and I liked the story — it was perfect in so many ways. I was wary at first because it reminded me initially of The Story Sisters by Alice Hoffman, which I really hated (read it last year), but then it grew on me. The narrator-who’s-a-sister-but-you-don’t-know-which-one was great for me. I loved the story of how the sisters grew close. Honestly, it wasn’t even that original of a story (three sisters with secrets come home after their mom is diagnosed with breast canter), but it was just really, really good.

That said, I did find it irritating that sometimes it took forever to get to an important plot point. Like Cory’s pregnancy. Oh my word, I seriously thought I would lose my mind before it was revealed. (And I have a nook, and I can tell you that I was 66% of the way through the book before it was revealed.) For something that’s given away on the book jacket, I would think it would be given attention earlier in the novel.

Read, read, read away!

Rating: 8.5/10

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Book Review: The Weird Sisters, Eleanor Brown

  1. Pingback: Krista’s CBR-III Review #5 & 6 – Half Broke Horses / The Weird Sisters | Cannonball Read III

  2. Steph

    I’m glad you read. I have not yet picked up a book in 2011. It’s ok because my goal is like 2 this year.

Leave a Reply

