Book Review: An Amish Love

Well, this one is a little late (and by little I mean about three months) but better late than never, right? Here’s my review of An Amish Love.

This trio of stories is an easy, cheerful read by Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Fuller, and Kelly Long. I’m kind of in this “Amish people are so interesting – and cool!” phase right now, so honestly I probably would’ve liked this regardless, unless its writing was truly horrific, but thankfully it was not. (We we all know that the quality of writing is a serious, serious piece of any book review that I do!)  Something I really appreciated is that although each of these three short stories (“Healing Hearts,” “What the Heart Sees,” and “A Marriage of the Heart”) can be read independently of one another, they’re all loosely connected in terms of character, plot, and setting, which gave these short stories a somewhat unique aspect.

This book is heavy on the values I’ve found in other Amish fiction: forgiveness, faith, the importance of family, and because of the kind of book this is, love. Thankfully, I was expecting all of those things based on the book’s description. Despite the fact that there truthfully isn’t anything too unique about the actual plot and content of the stories (as opposed to how they’re tied together in a different kind of way), there was still something inherently satisfying about reading An Amish Love. Maybe it’s because every character is more or less presented in a realistic way (although I’ll be the first to admit that the character development could have been done a little better in “A Marriage of the Heart,” which was my least favorite of the three short stories). Probably it’s because this was, for me, a “pleasure” book after a few heavier books. It was also a quick read where I was able to easily get lost in the story as I read. It only took me a day and a half to read this book, and would have taken less time had I not been interrupted and busy with other work.

Overall, if you’re in the market for both Christian romance and Amish stories, this is a book you’d like. If you’re not a fan of both of those things, I’d advise you steered clear.

Rating: 7/10

(I received this book for free from the Book Sneeze review program for this review. I was asked to review this book fairly based on my own opinions and not asked to make a positive review in return for receiving the book.)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Book Review: An Amish Love

  1. Pingback: Krista’s CBR-III Review #10 – An Amish Love by Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Fuller, & Kelly Long | Cannonball Read III

Leave a Reply

