Book Review: Bossypants by Tina Fey

I have a hard time reading books that other people think are funny. Take David Sedairs, for instance. Multiple people RAVED about this man and his books, and when I read Me Talk Pretty One Day, I was more offended than amused. It’s not that I have a weird sense of humor. I think I just don’t like being told by a lot of other people that I’m going to think whatever it is that I’m reading is “So funny you’ll laugh your head off.” I get wary. Being told something is funny reminds me of this kid in my college creative writing classes who always said he was going to write stories about his funny cats and the stories would be so funny, but then when he did write them they weren’t funny. They were terrible. I resented him telling me that I should think his stuff was funny, and I resented having to tell him the truth. Plus, I sometimes have a hard time liking books that EVERYONE IN THE FREE WORLD raves about (hated The Lovely Bones. Sorry, Alice Sebold. It’s sad but true.).

Which is a little ironic because I’m going to be upfront in telling you that Bossypants is pretty much the funniest thing I’ve ever read. In my life. And I’ve read a lot of books in my (barely) 28 years. So you should read it because YOU’RE GOING TO LAUGH YOUR HEAD OFF. At least you will if you’re me. Or if you’re Tina Fey or maybe Amy Pohler or Kristen Wiig. I hope they laughed at this book (especially Tina, since she wrote it). Amy, too, because she got some serious props from Tina (yeah, we’re on a first-name basis).

Seriously, though, I really love Tina Fey. Always have, always will. I am a product of the Saturday Night Live generation that began when awesome women like Tina started on the show (“Weekend Update” FTW). Plus I have a handful of friends who are funny in the same way with her, so basically I feel like Tina Fey and I are already best friends. So I was expecting this book to make me laugh, but I didn’t read it at first because I was nervous that it wouldn’t be funny after all and then I’d just be disappointed that my beloved failed me. But that all changed after one of my friends who reminds me of Tina Fey told me that she loved the book. I bought it that night on my iPad and read it slowly. (I say slowly because War and Peace this is not [sorry, best friend Tina Fey, but I think you won’t be offended], and it’s not really a “slow” read — I just took my good, sweet time.) Honestly, I just didn’t want it to end. I laughed every time I picked it up. It was like your favorite tv show, and you know that eventually the good times will be over, but you hope it goes on forever. That’s kind of how I felt about it.

The funny thing is, my original friend recommended this book to a bunch of her friends and it’s spread like wildfire. (Props to you, Hillary. You go, girl.) And now I just like to post the funniest lines of the book on her wall on facebook. Yeah, it’s that kind of book. I’d quote them here for you, but I’d basically quote the entire book and I’m not sure how Tina Fey, her royalty checks, and her publishers and their lawyers would feel about that. I have to say that my two favorite parts are the introduction and the chapter she spends talking about being Sarah Palin. I laughed out loud once or twice or every five seconds.

One minor complaint I’ve heard from others is that it’s a series of shortish vignettes, not a true story with a straight-forward plot. I would agree with them, but I would not complain about that. I’m okay with that because that’s what I expected. Plus, it’s kind of like a book version of SNL — lots of funny shorts. It’s what I think of when I think of Tina Fey.

So go read this because it’s funny, and you’ll laugh. And if you don’t please don’t tell me you won’t because my birthday was two days ago and your honesty will kill my birthday high.

Rating: 10/10

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Book Review: Bossypants by Tina Fey

  1. Pingback: Krista’s CBR-III Review #16 – Bossypants by Tina Fey | Cannonball Read III

  2. Pingback: The Best Books of Cannonball Read III | SPH - Small penis humiliation

Leave a Reply

