Book Review: Where Things Come Back, John Corey Whaley

Cannonball read: 20

I don’t even know how to describe Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley. I received a galley of it to read and review from Simon & Schuster’s Galley Grab program and normally, I think its description wouldn’t sound like something I was interested in. But it was a really, really good read with very few faults.

Here’s how I can describe it in a nutshell: Cullen is a 17-year-old optimist with a very active imagination, living in a tiny little town in Arkansas. Benton is a teenager experiencing a crisis of faith. There’s a crazy man who’s come to town, proclaiming that a rare, believed-to-be-extinct bird is living in the Arkansas city. Cullen’s younger brother disappears one day, and how he is or isn’t found is told when Cullen and Benton’s stories merge.

Honestly, this is a very weird book. Cullen and his classmates/friends are strange kids, and in some ways I’m not sure how real I find them to be. But here’s the thing: I didn’t mind that. I really was able to suspend my disbelief for this book and appreciate the characters as they were. If you’re one for quirky characters, a dash of mystery, and a funky plot, this is a great, fun book for you. (And I mean really, it’s good. I just started reading it this morning, and I am not a particularly fast reader!)

Also, if you’re looking for similar books, it reminded me a lot of Special Topics in Calamity Physics thanks to its quirkiness.

Rating: 9.5/10

(I received this book for free from GalleyGrab for this review. I was asked to review this book fairly based on my own opinions and not asked to make a positive review in return for receiving the book, but an honest one.)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Book Review: Where Things Come Back, John Corey Whaley

  1. Pingback: Krista’s CBR-III Review #20 – Where Things Come Back, John Corey Whaley | Cannonball Read III

  2. Echo Lee

    My teacher assigned this book to my class to read for extra points. I really needed the points so I decided to read the book! I have hated reading most of my life because my mother forced me to read numerous book when I was younger! So I went into reading this book with a very negative attitude! I ended up LOVING the book! I could not put it down!!!! I read it in the span of a few hours over the course of two days! I highly recommend this book! It is amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

