Book Review: Never Let Me Go, Kazuo Ishiguro

Several blogs I read have reviewed and recommended Never Let Me Go so when I got a nook, I bought it to read. I thought the plot sounded super interesting. Kath recounts her time at Hailsham after she sees her childhood friend Ruth while she (Kath) is working. Together they talk about their school days and visit their friend Tommy. These three are close friends and we find out about their school and life post-school as the novel progresses.

It’s really hard to talk about the plot without giving away certain parts of it. That said, this is a really interesting look at bioethics and the future of medical technology.

I thought this was an excellent book and I would highly recommend it to a variety of people (and I already have!). It’s part science fiction, part mystery, part bildungsroman, and part something that is entirely unique to itself. The pace of the book was good — a rambling narrative. One thing that I really liked that I don’t normally is how Kath jumped around at times when recalling stories or filling in gaps. She also said several times “I’ll get to that in a little bit.” Normally, I’m also irritated by that, but for this book it worked really well. It was very natural and almost made it feel like I was sitting in a room with her and Ruth and Tommy, just chatting about life. The way the story is presented also worked well for me. There’s a lot of jumping back and forth in time with stories that fill in the characters’ histories, and Kath even says a few times “I’ll tell you about such-and-such in a little bit.” Normally this would irritate me majorly, but in this novel that tactic really worked.

I also enjoyed the language that Ishiguro invents — donations and finishing and a few other things that take a while to figure out but just work so well once they’re out there and you have an “Ah-ha!” moment. It’s very Clockwork Orange in a way that doesn’t seem entirely baffling the whole book. (Plus, if some of the things don’t make sense, there’s a part in the middle where a teacher explains things pretty clearly and if you haven’t had that “Ah-ha!” moment by that point, you will when you reach that chapter.)

Overall, I recommend picking up a copy of this and diving in! I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Rating: 9/10

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Book Review: Never Let Me Go, Kazuo Ishiguro

  1. Pingback: Krista’s CRB-III Review #27 – Never Let Me Go, Kauzo Ishiguro | Cannonball Read III

Leave a Reply

