Book Review: Praying for Your Future Husband, Robin Jones Gunn & Tricia Goyer

Cannonball Read: 41

I’m at a weird place in my life where my friends are all getting married, or if they’ve been married for a while, they’re having kids. This is hard for me because I never really imagined I’d be almost 30 without a husband and/or children. Now, I’m not saying this is a bad thing, not at all. I am just not exactly living the life I had predicted for myself as a teenager.

This book was probably written with a younger target audience in mind, anywhere from high school to mid-20s, but as someone very close to 30, I thought much of this book spoke to me as well. Which is great, because sometimes it’s a bummer being the only friend in a medium-sized group who is single.

I appreciated that even though the focus of this book is on preparing one’s heart for a future spouse/marriage, I wasn’t made to feel like that praying for my future husband was the only way I should find value in myself. Gunn and Goyer make me feel like this is just one aspect of my life, not the only part of the most important part.

What I really liked were the end questions at the end of each chapter. It’s so easy to read a book about prayer and forget it as soon as you’re done, so having these very real and practical questions and the end helped me focus on what I was learning and how I could apply it to my own life. For that reason, I only let myself read one chapter a day because reading more at once would have defeated the purpose of going slow enough to really apply what I was reading to my own life.

I highly recommend this book for anyone who isn’t married but desires to be someday. It’s a great way to focus on finding a spouse who is more than just someone who fills a temporary need. This book would make a great study for a single’s group or for a girl’s group.

Rating: 9/10

 

I received this book for free in return for a review from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishers’ Blogging for Books. I was not asked to make a positive review, only an honest one.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Book Review: Praying for Your Future Husband, Robin Jones Gunn & Tricia Goyer

  1. Pingback: Krista’s CBR-III #41 – Praying for Your Future Husband, Robin Jones Gunn & Tricia Goyer | Cannonball Read III

  2. I really appreciated your review. I also got this book from Waterbrook Multnomah for review (and thus that is how I found your blog). I am in a similar place as you. I have a couple years before I turn 30 but until this year had never dated. As a teenager I wanted to spend some time in my 20’s traveling around the world, which I have done through mission trips (though I’d love to do more), but I also wanted to get married right out of college. Well that didn’t happen. I didn’t even go on any dates in college or in grad school. So while most of my friends are married and having kids, I’m still single, living at home with my parents, trying to find a job and wondering what God has in store for me.
    Thanks again for your review.

    • Krista

      Hi Charity! Thanks for the comment. It’s so nice to know we aren’t alone… because when we’re alone in our friends, it sure feels like that. Sometimes when I’m with some of my married/parents friends, and someone asks if I have a husband or kids, I joke and say, “No, I have a masters degree!” 🙂 Nothing like a little humor to deflect the pain. But even though it’s hard, I’m learning to give those desires to Him, and pray that if it’s what He wants, it will happen on His time.

      Good luck with finding a job!

Leave a Reply

