Book Review: Heaven is for Real, Todd Burpo

I’ve had Heaven is for Real by Todd Burpo for several months now after a friend’s mom gave it to me when I helped them move. It was my “car book” – the book I kept in my car to read in case I didn’t have a book on me, but I never got around to reading it until this week. It was a quick read – I read it in just over a day, and that includes 8 hours at work.

I’ve heard and read mixed reviews about this book, so I tried really hard to go into it being neutral, and I think my overall sentiments with it is that I’m still neutral. It was a super long or detailed book, and while it was fairly well-written, it definitely isn’t “fine literature.” I’m a practicing Christian, so there was nothing about this book that seemed ultra far-fetched to me, but I think you have to go into a book like this either believing or not believing. A lot of the reviews that I have read have ripped this apart for its bad theology and inconsistencies. Okay, the thing is, I’m not reading this book and using it to defend my theology. It’s not that kind of book. It’s more of a book for those who need a feel-good moment in their lives and for those who already believe or are on the cusp of believing in the Christian religion.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Book Review: Heaven is for Real, Todd Burpo

  1. Pingback: Krista’s #CBR3 Review #2: Heaven is for Real by Todd Burpo « Cannonball Read IV

Leave a Reply

