Book Review: Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers

Cannonball Read V #11

Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers has been on my to-read shelf for years. Seriously, years. So when I went to visit a friend in Alabama a few years ago, I borrowed this book from her, and then put it on my actual bookshelf for another 18 months before I finally got around to reading it.

I know I said before in a different review that most Christian fiction has a huge cheeseball factor, and while this book had its moments of cheeseballness, it was actually a really good, insightful read. Drawn from the Biblical story of Hosea, this novel follows Michael Hosea’s journey to love a woman we know first as Sarah, and then as Angel, as God works to show His love to a woman whose life has been taken over by prostitution and cruel men.

I thought this was a beautifully told story and sadly, it’s all too near and dear to my own heart. I’ve never been a prostitute, but I know how much damage can be caused by a man who doesn’t have a woman’s best intentions — not to mention God — at heart. Angel must deal with the consequences of her past, and that means she feels like she will never be worthy of the love God has in store for her. She must be redeemed, and God uses His love, and Michael Hosea’s love, to accomplish that task.

This book made me think a lot and really look critical at my own self-worth in light of how God sees me.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Book Review: Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers

  1. Pingback: Krista’s #CBR4 Reviews 9 – 13, too many authors to mention! « Cannonball Read IV

Leave a Reply

