Book Review: The Night She Disappeared by April Henry

Cannonball Read IV #13

Again. Out of order.

If there’s anything that I love, it’s a good mystery. The first “adult” books I read were Mary Higgins Clark’s mysteries, and I love that the writing world is now writing books targeted for the kind of teenager I was. It’s clear from April Henry’s The Night She Disappeared that this is a book of suspense and mystery. Mysterious title? Check. Mysterious cover art? Check.

Kayla goes missing from work one night. She leaves to deliver a pizza and doesn’t return. What’s even weirder is that someone called and asked if the girl who drove the Mini Cooper was working that night. Gabie drives that Mini and is chilled when she finds out the question that was asked. Together, she and another coworker, Drew, work to find out where Kayla is, if she is dead as everyone hopes, and to save herself from being the victim of another kidnapping.

This was a really good book. It was a fast read, told in chapters that alternated between character POVs. (I’m not always a huge fan of that, and I think it only worked moderately well for this novel — a single POV would have been better). The story progressed quickly, and the characters were all likeable enough. Gabie was a little too sheltered for my liking, and at times I found both her and her parents to be very unrealistic characters. I really liked Drew. What I liked the least was the ending. It came together too fast and too easily. I wish that it had been more developed and that the resolution of what happened to Kayla and been less rushed in those final pages.

While I think this book falls more into the average category, I think it’s a worthy read for young adults who like mysteries. It’s not a graphic book, it has no references to vampires or other weird sci-fi things, and it’s not overly sexual.

I received this book from NetGalley in return for an honest review.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Book Review: The Night She Disappeared by April Henry

  1. Pingback: Krista’s #CBR4 Reviews 9 – 13, too many authors to mention! « Cannonball Read IV

Leave a Reply

