Book Review: Wednesdays Were Pretty Normal by Michael Kelley

Cannonball Read IV #12

I am going so out of order on this one, but I want to get this review posted before I forget this book.

Okay. So Michael Kelley’s life was going pretty well. Wife, awesome little boy, another kiddo on the way. And then, in an instant, it changed. His 2-year-old son was diagnosed with cancer.

Nothing to shake you up like a cancer diagnosis.In a child.

Sometimes I can’t read books like his because I think of my sister, who’s eight, and all I can manage to process is that I am so thankful she is a happy, healthy kid. But it could be taken away in a second. Books like this are hard for me because of that very reason. I don’t want to think about it, and I don’t want to think about what my reaction would be as I struggled through that bleakness. I’d like to think I’d be the most faithful servant of Jesus ever, but you never know until it’s you walking through that mire. Michael Kelley didn’t know until he knew.

That’s the heart of this book. Once Kelley knew “the other side,” he didn’t quit being authentic. He didn’t only tell people he was great. He didn’t blindly follow Jesus without bringing his own pain and suffering to the cross. What he did was lay his soul bare in these pages and told readers, “I was here. It was hard. I struggled. But God’s truth is still the truth, even when Satan makes it feel like it’s all lies.” Better yet, Kelley doesn’t just say that. He shows readers, countless times in the scriptures, where what God promises He will stay with us.

I’m not a parent, and I’ve never loved a child with a serious, life-threatening illness. But I have been in the valley before. I have struggled and questioned God and been filled with anger and hurt. You don’t have to parent a sick child to understand Kelley’s own hurts, and that’s what I appreciate the most. Wednesdays Were Pretty Normal will be a soul-filling book that reminds parents of Jesus’ truth, but it’s also a soul-filling book for anyone who has ever been in a place of doubt or has ever asked the question, “Why, God?” Nothing can soothe you except God when you’re in that place, and this is a book that gently reminds you that He is there with you right through all of the hurt.

For the record: I totally bought the book after I read it on my ereader. It’s that moving and powerful. I don’t usually do that!

Also, this is totally not related to this book, exactly, but I have to commend B&H Publishing for the quality of the Christian books it publishes. I have ready some seriously poorly written, cheesy-as-they-come Christian non-fiction, but B&H has always impressed me with the caliber of their published content! Kuddos!

I received this e-galley from NetGalley in return for an honest review!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Book Review: Wednesdays Were Pretty Normal by Michael Kelley

  1. Pingback: Krista’s #CBR4 Reviews 9 – 13, too many authors to mention! « Cannonball Read IV

Leave a Reply

