Book Review: Sisterhood Everlasting by Ann Brashares

Cannonball Read IV #23

I never got into the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series the way I did the Babysitters Club but I definitely still read them. After reading Sweet Valley Confidential, I was nervous about reading Sisterhood Everlasting by Ann Brashares because SVC was so, so bad. But the series were so different to begin with so I took a chance. If you’re looking to avoid spoilers, maybe don’t read this one because a character dies and I’ll probably mention her by name.

You’ve been warned. Fair enough.

The four girls are grow and scattered about the world. Bridget lives with her boyfriend in California, Lena is a professor somewhere in New England, Carmen is a famous (and skinny) actress, and Tibby is… no one really knows as she’s suddenly gone to Australia and has not been very communicative. So when she sends all the girls tickets to Greece to have a reunion, the girls are nervous – but very, very excited. Unfortunately you know everything goes wrong.

Overall, I think this was a pretty good novel. I was kind of annoyed at some of the characters’ lack of change (LenacoughcoughBridgetcough) but I guess people really can stay the same for ten years if no one pushes them to be any different. As with the previous Sisterhood novels, Sisterhood Everlasting is told through alternating viewpoints, even for Tibby because she is the one who dies very early on in the novel. I liked that Tibby’s story wasn’t straightforward and that there were some things she had hidden from her friends.

My only bone to pick with this, which is probably the last installment in the series, is that it feels like sometimes the characters just needed to move forward and instead, they ended up just talking for pages and pages and pages about the same things, especially Lena. We get it, Ann! They’re trying to figure things out, but hoemygosh, there is only so much self-reflection and analysis we can take as readers.

Overall rating: 7/10

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Book Review: Sisterhood Everlasting by Ann Brashares

  1. Pingback: Krista’s #CBR4 Reviews 21 – 25, too many titles to put up here! « Cannonball Read IV

  2. I liked your review of SVC, so I came over for this one.

    Tibby dies? SHE DIES??????

    Also, why is Carmen skinny? Please tell me this is addressed.

    • Krista

      She does die! She has a terminal disease (which isn’t exactly how she dies, but it is part of her death).

      And yes, Carmen is skinny, which is something that bothered me the most! She always felt like the most realistic girl of the four to me, mostly because I could imagine her looking like my body looks. She’s skinny because she’s now a famous actress, although I think at the end of the book she is rethinking a lot of the things in the industry, like size and beauty.

Leave a Reply

