Book Review, Radical by David Platt

Cannonball Read IV #27

I read the follow up to Radical by David Platt last year, aptly called Radical Together. I’ve been meaning to read this one for a while and finally, finally got the opportunity to read it after I subjected myself to some seriously awful books.

I enjoyed Radical Together a lot, but I actually enjoyed Radical even more. Radical Together was awesome for a small group discussion, but I was overwhelmed by the questions sometimes — that is the first focus of my mind. Radical was a lot more thought-provoking to me and made me think critically about what it means to be wealthy, what it means to be an American, and what wealth in America is compared to wealth in other parts of the world.

Here’s what I have to say about this book: this is a book that aligns perfectly with my faith and my beliefs. I’m a Bible-believing Christian, and when we think about what we have in America, we have so much, yet the race is to constantly get more. It’s ridiculous. I say this all because while I would definitely call this one of my favorite books, I think that anyone who isn’t a Bible-believing Christian (including those who practice Word of Faith theology) will be adverse to this book.

But I’m not adverse and I say rock on, Pastor Platt!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

