Book Review: Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Cannonball Read IV #55

Insurgent by Veronica Roth picks up where the first book in the series, Divergent, left off. Tris has decided to leave her faction for the Dauntless faction. She is surrounded by brave, possibly stupid, angry young men and women, and when her factions discovers a secret plot by another faction, war is inevitable. Insurgent is the story of war, love, loyalty (to family and friends and lovers) and what it really means to be Divergent.

Insurgent was the nearly-perfect follow up to Divergent. It’s fast-paced and continues to develop the characters we first met in Divergent. In books like this, where a back story is alluded to, I am always curious about the back story as much as I am the present plot, so it was very good news that Roth shares the back story to most of the factions and to some of the characters. Tris struck me as times as kind of annoying and I was like, “You were bad-ass in the first book. Keep on being bad ass!” but overall I liked her. I especially liked to see her developing relationship with Tobias…

… which brings me to the part I didn’t like about this book. There are two places (I think it’s only two) where Tris and Tobias almost have sex. As soon as I read the first one, I sent a text to my friend Hillary, who’d already read the book, and was like “WHYYYYYYYYY?” I mean, sex is good and all but in a young adult novel? It completely did nothing to move the book forward and if you’d taken those scenes out, or replaced them with something less graphic/intense, it would not have made a difference to the story/Tris and Tobias’s story.

That said, I cannot wait for the next book to come out! I will want to reread the first two, or at least a very detailed summary, but it will be worthy reading for sure.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Book Review: Insurgent by Veronica Roth

  1. Pingback: Krista’s #CBR$ Reviews #53-60 « Cannonball Read IV

Leave a Reply

