Book Review: I’d Know You Anywhere by Laura Lippman

Cannonball Read IV #62

In Laura Lippman’s I’d Know You Anywhere, we meet Eliza Benadict, mother of two and kidnap survivor. She was taken the summer she was 15 and held for almost six weeks. Her kidnapper is serving a death sentence and Eliza rarely thinks of him or of that summer until the say she gets a letter in the mail with the chilling words “I’d know you anywhere.” After seeing a picture of grown up Elizabeth – who Eliza was before the kidnapping and captivity – Walter, the name who committed the crime and many more, begins a correspondence with Elizabeth, hoping what she knows will save him from death.

I really liked the first book of Laura Lippman’s that I read so this was a welcomed read for me. I enjoyed this one, too, for most of the same reasons. First of all, I thought it was an intriguing concept. After all, this woman is an adult now and out of the blue, her kidnapper begins communicating with her. Talk about creepy and unnerving. Lippman did a good job of making Eliza-nee-Elizabeth a real woman. She was likeable but certainly not perfect. She was blind to her daughter’s deception but she clearly loved her kids. Her marriage was great but not without strain. She had a loving family but her sister, and her relationship with her sister, was strained (at the very best). It was just a comfortable mix.

Even better was watching Eliza’s interaction with Walter unfold. I thought this was intriguing, too. Can you even imagine? Even if you had distanced yourself from that life, there would still inevitably be something that connected you to the other person, and that is totally the case with Eliza and Walter.

I never knew if Eliza would help Walter or not. I kept going back and forth, and even at the end, I couldn’t believe what she decided. It was one of those books that felt like it’s pull out a surprise at the end, some kind of twist, and it didn’t. If anything, the ending was kind of anticlimactic, but to be honest, I think that worked really well for this book. It was more thought-provoking than some kind of big, emotional ending (either way!).

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Book Review: I’d Know You Anywhere by Laura Lippman

  1. Pingback: Krista’s #CBR4 #61-69 « Cannonball Read IV

  2. I’d Know You Anywhere was a real page turner. I always enjoy reading Lippman’s books which take place in my home town of Baltimore..

Leave a Reply

