Book Review: Lineage of Grace by Francine Rivers

Cannonball Read IV #61

Lineage of Grace is my second Francine Rivers book this year. It’s a collection of five short stories, each detailing five women whose names appear in the lineage of Jesus at the beginning of the book of Matthew: Tamar, Rahab, Ruth, Bathsheeba, and Mary.

It’s difficult to summarize a book like this but here’s how it’s set up. Each story is broken into chapters and is based directly on the text of the Bible where the original story appears. In some cases, the things the different characters say are exactly what is the in translation Rivers used to narrate the story. At the end of each story, there is a series of questions, broken into six different studies, which are great supplemental reading/thinking or that would be perfect for reading the stories with a small group.

I really enjoyed this book. Rivers writes Christian books that are not cheesy and painful. The characters come alive off of the page and their stories seem accessible to me, despite taking place thousands and thousands of years ago. And this book in general also reminded me how important the Old Testament in my life is, even though at many times it seems silly and irrelevant. For a 500+ page book, this one flew by and I was really sad to see it end. There is a male “equivalent” that I will almost certainly read in the next few months.


1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Book Review: Lineage of Grace by Francine Rivers

  1. Pingback: Krista’s #CBR4 #61-69 « Cannonball Read IV

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s