@readathon end of event meme

I didn’t make the last two posts as planned because once I finished my third book, it was bedtime for this very tired girl. Plus, I really felt terrible. I could have powered through sleepiness if I hadn’t felt like I’d had too much to drink (trust me when I say I didn’t have even a single drop!). I might be a little late to the game, but here’s my end of event meme!

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you?
    Hour 20, which was when I decided to call it a night. I’d just finished my third book and felt awful as I was updating my reading stats (dizzy and queasy). I felt fine when I woke up so it was definitely just exhausti
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?
    Well, not really. Because I’m not a fan of graphic novels (don’t hate them, they just aren’t my style, aside from the Maus books) I don’t have any to suggest. Maybe just aim for shorter books on your list..
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?
    I don’t! I really have a good experience. Well, I have a wish, but it’s an impractical one. It would be awesome to arrange some kind of meet-up for people who are local-ish, but again, I’m aware that people are ALL OVER the world as they participate, so that really just isn’t logical/practical/doable!
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?
    Cheerleading spreadsheet. So helpful to see who’d already done what and where I could fill in gaps. In general, it really felt like a huge community event. People at home kept asking how I could possibly feel connected to the strangers reading with me and all I can say is I did! Between cheerleaders commenting on my blog posts, the interactions on twitter, and reading others’ blogs, it was totally awesome.
  5. How many books did you read?
    Three
  6. What were the names of the books you read?
    A Good Man is Hard to Find by Flannery O’Connor, The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster, and Joy in the Morning by Betty Smith (not Joy in the Morning as I called it all day yesterday!)
  7. Which book did you enjoy most?
    A Good Man is Hard to Find, which I knew would happen because Flannery O’Connor is one of my very favorite writers.
  8. Which did you enjoy least?
    The Phantom Tollbooth. I did enjoy it, but not in the way I think I would have enjoyed it if I was a kid and that kind of word play was totally novel to me.
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders?
    Have fun! I didn’t write any cheers, but I just tried to be genuine as I encouraged people to read and have fun. If you are cheering on twitter, make sure you check out their accounts the day before if possible so you can get a sense of who they are!
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?
    Totally. See you in October! I think there’s a few things I will do next time: a) read: I will read in October as my primary participation in the event but since I felt so sick at the end of the event this time, I will either sleep in and start a little later or make sure I get a solid night’s sleep (I was going on five very interrupted and uncomfortable hours yesterday!). I will also try to find a way to minimize distractions. I had a lot of last-minute things pop up just because I was around my family (I needed their internet!). b) cheer: I would love to cheer again, and I will probably try to do it on twitter. c) community: Next time I think I’ll redo how I blog. I did a blog post every three hours with updates which worked fine but I also broke each of those three hours down and that was more work than it was worth for me! So I might figure out a different way in October. I also didn’t participate in any mini challenges which was a bummer so I will try to be more intentional about checking those out!

That’s a wrap, folks! Happy reading!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

