#boutofbooks – if you like X, try Y challenge

Because I read more than most of the people in my daily circle of friends/acquaintances, I often get asked for recommendations. What a fun way to do this challenge because I have ALL THE RECOMMENDATIONS. So without further adieu, here you go!

If you love epic historical novels, try The Power of One or The Persimmon Tree, both by Bryce Courtenay. TPoO takes place in South Africa during World War II and tells the story of Peekay, a “rooinek” (red neck in Afrikaans) battling against tensions with Afrikaaner children. He must learn to think first with his head, then with his heart. TPT is similar but takes place in the Dutch East Indies and Australia. It’s the story of Nick Duncan and Anna. So beautiful. (Both books have sequels – Tandia and Fishing for Stars, respectively!)

If you love graphic novels historical novels, try Maus I/II or Persepolis/Persepolis 2. I feel like these might be cliche recommendations, but they are incredible works of both written and visual art. Maus deals with the Holocaust and Persepolis deals with Iran after the Islamic revolution. Beautiful and heart-breaking.

If you love books about current trends or current events, try The Emperor of All Maladies by Siddartha Mukherjee. Mukherjee writes a “biography of cancer,” and it is an incredible read. Despite its heavy topic, he tackles it well, and in language that the non-scientifically-minded can grasp. The book looks at many different aspects of cancer: its historical roots, the social implications, the cultural “war on cancer,” the politics of treatment, and so much more. It’s a lengthy by fascinating read.

If you love compelling memoirs, try Lucky by Alice Sebold. I must confess, I’m not a big fan of Sebold’s other works, but Lucky is just incredible. Sebold honestly and painfully shares her story of surviving a brutal rape and how she got her life back together after it. I can’t imagine reading it and being unchanged.

For more recommendations, go check out the post over at The Book Barbies and maybe consider adding your own!

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s